Digi Fab Chats: Meet Liz!

Welcome to the first installation of Digi Fab Chats, featuring interviews of rockstars in the digital space delivered right to your computer screen!! From advertising execs to influential bloggers to software developers, you’ll be sure to find compelling content that offers a sneak peek into their world.

This week, I had the chance to interview one of DC’s most influential fashion and lifestyle bloggers, Liz Fassbender of So Much to Smile About.

She’s also the co-founder of Capital Area Fashion & Beauty Bloggers, a great resource for local marketers looking to tap into DC fashion and thought leaders. Now that you know a bit about Liz, check out our interview below:

When did you begin blogging? 

I started blogging in August of 2010. In DC, for me, work really slows down during the whole month of August while Congress in on recess. Some people go on vacation but I started a blog!

What 3 tips would you share with other fashion and lifestyle bloggers?

I think the most important thing to remember is to do it because you love it. If you love what you do and stay true to your voice you’ll be much more successful then if you are less authentic. Along the same lines, embrace what makes you a bit different. You want to have a point of view. Finally, if you create good content, the readers (and increased attention) will come. And as an extra tip, when you do get more attention and people asking things of you, remember it is ok to say no! It’s hard sometimes to turn things down, especially at first, but it gets too overwhelming otherwise!

What is your favorite “nerd love” or tech gadget? Here’s mine by the way, on Shopbop of course!

Love that DVF laptop case! She actually just released a new bag called the Harper Connect  that has a compartment for your iPad where you can use it without taking it out of the bag! I’m dying over how convenient and stylish it is – but I need to get an iPad first!

What designers are doing the coolest things in the digital space? 

I really love the brands, stores and designers that are active on social media, like Bergdorf [Goodman] and DKNY on twitter and their blogs. They’ve really figured out how to use social media to reach out to a large audience and engage them. They are so personable and really bring everyone into the brand’s online community – I think it does amazing things for their businesses!

Have you ever been approached by a brand to feature content on your blog?

Yes, I’ve worked with Banana Republic and JewelMint to name a couple.

What is the best way for marketers to pitch or influence you to post about their product, brand or service?

I appreciate it when marketers are really personable. I very rarely return emails that are addressed “Dear Blogger,” but if someone sends me an email saying something like, “Hey Liz, I just wanted to tell you I’m such a fan of So Much to Smile About and think you would really love our product…” I always get back to them. They have to understand that I won’t always post about their product, but if they are personable and have done their research, I’m SO much more likely to!

It’s 3p on Wednesday, what social media platforms and tech devices have you already used today?

Almost all of them! I check email and Twitter on my iPhone while still in bed in the morning, then Facebook once I’ve gotten to work, and it’s entirely possibly I’ve checked in on Foursquare over lunch. Twitter is my favorite – I keep my TweetDeck up on my monitor all day long!

Duh! I’m already following Liz on Twitter…one of the best ways to keep up with DC’s insane social life!

Thanks again to Liz for taking out time from her busy (she’s always up to something!) schedule to chat. Don’t forget to check out So Much to Smile About today for DC street style, happenings, fashion and more!

3 thoughts on “Digi Fab Chats: Meet Liz!

Leave a comment